September 12, 2014

Day 179: Cambria

So I left Big Sur and cycled to Nepenthe Cafe. It is expensive, but the views are supposed to be fantastic. Here is what I saw:

Although I could not see the sea, I could here it!

The problem so far with cycling the coast is that it is cold (perhaps cooler would be more appropriate, but I've become accustomed to the heat!) and misty (so often you can be in and out of the sun, which makes for great temperature changes and obscures views). However, the mist does tend to clear late morning, early afternoon.

Unfortunately I could not get close today's lighthouse as the road is closed (access is only possible with a guide, bla bla bla ...). So this is it:

But I did get to see the Sea Lions.

I know they look dead, but I can assure you they are not!

And some Californian Condors

Moreover, the great cycling continues. Indeed, although the climbs are not long, they are numerous and some are steep(ish). In excess of 1500m of climbing today.

Oh, I have now cycled in excess of 10,000 miles in America, and to celebrate I had a very pleasant meal in Robin's, accompanied by some alcohol!