June 18, 2015

Day 92: Fernie

Stealth Camping!

Rhonda kindly brought us coffee, oatcakes and Coloured Scottish Cheddar to our campsite this morning. I'm sure I could see a tear in Ewan's eye as this traditional Scottish fayre was set before us!

Later, on arrival at toy town Fort Steele, we took shelter from the persisting rain for an hour so.

We left in drizzle, but the sun soon came out and we rode in glorious sunshine until shortly before our arrival in Fernie (Since we were only wet for the final 4 miles or so, and we were warm, the day will be classed as a non rainy day!)

At our final map meeting I decided to change my intended route, which was to cycle up to Crowsnest Pass. From there Ewan would cycle onward and I'd cycle back to Fernie to reconnect to my original route, a further 20 odd miles down the road.

Instead, I'm going to ride with Ewan to Bellevue and we will part ways shortly down the road from there the following morning.

So why change my route? It is so that I can traverse the "Going to the Sun Road" in both directions: Starting and ending in St Mary.