November 30, 2014

Update 1

Well the nights are fair drawing in. So to stave off SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder) I've been planning next year's adventure. Not too suprisingly, given the joy that last year's adventure gave me, I'll be making another six month cycle tour of the United States of America.

The flights have been booked: I fly into New York on the 17th March 2015 and depart from New York for the UK on the 15th September 2015.

From New York I'll be taking the train to Chicago, where I intend to take a stopover. Then it's back on the train to complete the 3 day train journey to San Diego.

From there, it is some 9,177 miles or so of cycling to New York. Yes I've already digitised the route! But this route is simply intended as a guide and, as such, it should only be seen as indicative and subjest to change as the adventure unfolds. As for this year, I intend to update "Where is Dave?" to show my current location as I travel, and to provide the usual blog type stuff.

Some of the highlights are as follows:

  • The Grand Canyon
  • Utah Cliffs
  • Colorado
  • Wyoming
  • Grand Tetons
  • Yellowstone NP
  • Montana
  • Glacier NP
  • Jasper
  • North Dakota
  • Great Lakes
  • Niagra Falls
  • Bar Habour (Maine)
  • Boston
  • New York

Here is a map showing the intended route:

A larger version can be found here

So if you would like to join me on some or all of this route, then it would be great to have you along.

And yes, the company I work for have agreed to this second six month "extended leave of abscence"!

As of writing ..... only 107 days to go!