May 10, 2014

Day 53: Waukeenah (Rest Day)

For our rest day I was greated with news that was less than good. It would appear that following an insect bite my leg has become infected such that I am now on antibiotics to counteract the cellulitis that is to be found on my right calf. Fortunately, Cathy, our fellow cyclist who just happens to be a professional pediatrician, and is rapidly becoming my personal medical savior, called in a prescription for me. Thanks Cathy.

Anyway, after a visit to the pharmacist for Cindy (possible cold sore) and I we were off for a visit to the largest fresh water spring (size, rather than water flow) in Florida for a boat trip and some wild life spotting (manatee, alligators, turtles and birds of various kinds).

Boat Trip
Alligator

Also got to try Fried Green Tomatoes.

Fried Green Tomatoes