January 12, 2024

Day 15: Port de Sollér (Cycle)

The weather forecast this morning was worse than that provided yesterday afternoon. Moreover, the weather as experienced was worse than that which was forecast on both occasions. The temperatures were forecast to be in the range of 10 to 12°C, they were about 9°C when I set off and, as I started to climb in the shadow of dark clouds it quickly dropped to 5.5°C. By the time I reached the high point of the day it was little more than 4°C. As for descending, typically they were undertaken with the garmin reporting a temperature of 4°C. Fortunately, I'd taken extra clothing that I donned for the descents, which kept my body warm, even if at times my feet and fingers became cold.

The first climb was approximately 14km long, with an average gradient of about 6%. The climb was the Puig Major (apparently the second most difficult cycle climb on the island), which is reached as you exit the Túnel de Monnáber.

Here's a photo of the tunnel!

From there it was all downhill until the climb of the Coll dels Reis started!

At the top I found these young pups preparing for their descent to the Port de Sa Calobra.

Although caution was required, due to the damp surface/tyre conditions, I passed them all on the descent!

Fortunately, at the port, they did not stop, so I did not have the ignominy of them overtaking me on the climb back up to the coll!

Here's a view taken looking back from whence I came:

And at the foggy top of the Coll dels Reis, again:

The final climb of the day had me returning to the Túnel de Monnáber and a descent of 14 kilometres: Yippee!

  • Distance driven: 0
  • Distance cycled: 74 km
  • Weather: Dark clouds and temperatures lower than forecast!

Today's route: I've just realised me and my bike climbed in excess of 2000m today, no wonder I'm knackered! But, even with less than optimum weather conditions, I enjoyed my day out on the bike.