January 24, 2023

Day 27: Denia (Non Day)

It is said that the rain in Spain falls mainly on the plain: today it chose to rain in Denia! At least it did from pre-dawn until the end of lunch!

Accordingly today's cycle was postponed.

Instead, for me, it was another supermarket haul. This time: Aldi, Mercadona and Carrefour (twice!). Aldi, because I was given the impression they were pretty good. I wasn't overly impressed. Mercadona because, having only visited one of their stores and, as they are the largest supermarket chain, I thought I may have been a little too hasty in concluding that they weren't selling the victuals that I wished to purchase. As it was, I wasn't too hasty; my initial impression was simply confirmed during this visit. Conclusion: I shall not be stepping foot in their stores again! As for Carrefour, they do seem to generally have the groceries I'm looking for. However, that is not the reason I visited them twice today! Instead it is because my brain is increasingly creating more and more work for my legs: I forgot to purchase much needed butter! Yet, returning to Carrefour was not all bad, as it did afford me the opportunity to clear the shelf of their lentil and vegetable soup, which having consumed a tin for my lunch I'd discovered was rather nice! When I say clear the shelf, there were only 3 tins left!

So why all this food chat? The reason is that as I've slowly matured, food and its quality has become more important to me and, as such, I have become more choosy about what I consume. Indeed, I think that we deserve, or at least should try and make the effort, to generally eat good healthy food, which is not as easy as it should be. How things have changed, I recall when I was in my youth expressing the opinion that I was too busy for food; "why can't someone produce a pill with all the nutrients I need so that I don't have to waste time eating", said I naively. That is anathema to me now! Food has become very much more important to me such that I'm willing to visit three supermarkets in order to find the food I think is healthy or, perhaps, healthier.

I did find some time to move to a new location in Denia, where I plan to stay for the next couple of nights.

Also, my walk back to the the van, after the second Carrefour visit, resulted in a walk through 200m length tunnel, located below the Castle, that formed part of the air raid shelters built in 1937 during the Spanish Civil War.

  • Distance driven: 6 miles
  • Distance cycled: 0
  • Weather: Rain at first giving way to late afternoon broken cloud and dry.
  • Location: Google Maps