February 27, 2023

Day 61: Tabernas Desert (Walk)

For a change I let my legs do the walking today. It was supposed to be a 9 mile, approximately 3.5 hour walk. At least that was the suggested time allowance. I left about 10am and eventually arrived back at the van at about 4.45pm. It was a stroll rather than a walk. My walks are definitely not at route march pace.

The route was found on the internet and I although I at times deviated from it, it is a very good route that incorporates interests such as geology, film sets, archeology, walking along river beds, fauna and flora, and water features. So something for everyone really. And that is why it took me so long to get round!

Here is a photo of the artificial oasis created for the film "Lawrence of Arabia":

And here's some geology:

And the film set for Sergio Leone's "Once Upon a Time in the West":

And some more geology with crumbling made stuff:

And, finally a view of Calar Alto, in the far distance, with its observatory, basking in sunshine!:

  • Distance driven: 0
  • Distance cycled: 0
  • Distance walked: officially about 9.5 miles, probably more like 12 to 15 miles!
  • Weather: Sunny early on, dark skies by lunch time threatening rain, then brightening up in the mid to late afternoon. Temperatures varied as and when the sun shone. Not as windy as yesterday.

Here's the route I meant to follow: