January 6, 2024

Day 9: Peguera (Cycling)

Unfortunately it was not a dream/nightmare, and the van's damage does not look less bad in the cold light of day. Shame!

In an attempt to not dwell upon the incident I went for a cycle. Cycling is always good for the soul. En route I came upon this "Lucky 8".

Although not superstitious, I interpreted me encountering it's existence, on this day of epiphany, as a sign that my recent run of misfortune may, at last, be turning for the better! That notion was quickly dispelled as, shortly there after, the cable to the front derailleur (the mechanism that is used to switch from one chainring to the other) broke!, which meant that the bike was limited in its usable gears. The bike remained rideable, just not as efficiently; similar in function as "a car's limp mode". Therefore, it was an earlier than planned return to the van. Whereupon I replaced the cable and took the bike for a quick test ride. The bike is now operating as it should.

Yet more misfortune or, perhaps, a case of having a poor maintenance regime. In reality, just a minor inconvenience!

In 56 years of cycling it is the first time I have had a cable break on my bike whilst out riding it. Indeed, the cable was less than 15 months old. Bad luck I suppose!

There was a change to my original cycling plans due to the forecast of strong winds, with 47 mph gusts predicted. Accordingly, I changed the route such that my elevation remained below approximately 120 metres. Fortuitously, although it was windy, the route was such that it was mainly sheltered from the wind. Also there were 6 short, pretty steep climbs to overcome. Apart from the cable issue it was an enjoyable ride, only occasionally intruded by negative thoughts!

hmmm, I wonder in which direction the wind is blowing?

  • Distance driven: 0
  • Distance cycled: 46 kilometres
  • Weather: Temp: 12 - 14°C, WINDY!, mainly sunny.
Today's Route (the bit i rode!)