January 9, 2024

Day 12: Valldemossa (Drive/Cycle)

The first coll (Can Costa), was a freebie!

This is because my starting elevation was such that I only had to climb approximately 20 metres of elevation to reach it.

Not only that, I thereafter was rewarded with a descent, which ended on my arrival Daia. You may be able to spot me in this here photo taken there!

The most well known of today's official began a short climb out of Soller.

I enjoyed the climb, even though I was rather overdressed. From the forecast I was expecting temperatures similar to yesterday. Instead the temperature was about 14°C. So I was a bit too warm!

The descent cooled me down though!

Then it was onto the Coll d'en Claret.

Here's a view from the climb towards the town of Esporles, and Palma in the background.

Obviously the next stop was the coll's summit.

Then things got interesting. I decided to pay a visit to the Port de Valldemossa. It turns out that it is 6 kilometre drop to sea level. Here is a photo looking back towards whence I'd commenced descending.

Here's one looking back to the port from approximately half way up.

And, here I'm approximately 1 kilometre from leaving views of the port.

The final segment of climbing led back to Valldemossa, where the Valldemossa Coll sign can be found.

So, although not having an official starting sign, I'm pleased to report I climbed from approximately 2m above sea level to the 412m coll summit, about as great an elevation change as you can ride to this coll.

I shan't go into the details but, due to yet more stupidity on my behalf, all of today's cycling was achieved on this morning's breakfast and the contents of one 500ml bottle of water!

  • Distance driven: 24
  • Distance cycled: 74 kilometres
  • Weather: Pretty good
  • Location: Google Maps
Today's route: