September 12, 2014

Day 177: Sunset State Beach Campground

First full day on the road of the final leg of the tour, and I'm ok with that. All good things must come to an end, and I am expecting to enjoy this ending.

So although it was a cool start I set off with a feeling of joy intent on making the most of the remaining days.

One of the first things I noticed was that there were hundreds, perhaps thousands, of cormorants and pelicans flying in the opposite direction, I.e., north, which suprised me because I assumed that birds would be migrating south! Fortunately I stopped a a view point where Gail informed me that they were not migrating but, instead, were simply flying either from their low tide to high tide roost or, flying from thier overnight resting to feeding roost. It is an education being on this ride!

So, today's lighthouse is, Pigeon Point:

Suprise of the day was: seeing this guy, in a lay-by, playing the drums!