January 17, 2024

Day 20: Playa Ciudad Jardin (Drive/Cycle/Drive)

A day of chores, driving and, more importantly, cycling!

Here's a photo taken on my way to the Pan shop to get a loaf, which I didn't get!:

Once the chores were finished I drove to Felanitx where today's cycle started. Almost from the get go I was climbing until I finally reached Puig de Sant Salvador. Officially the climb started with only 4.8 kilometres to the summit with an average gradient of 6.5%. In the following photo you can see the start sign, to the right, and the destination, to the left, with "Tese" in the middle.

The summit was arrived at just about here:

However, a little more climbing gets you to the Sanctuary and this drinking water feature:

On leaving the summit, the descent needed to be taken with care due to high winds.

I then paid a visit to Cala D'or and Cala Ferrera, which I first visited way back in the 80's. Can't say whether it has changed or not, because I have no recollection of how it looked way back then!

Finally, there was one last climb before this Mallorcan cycling adventure shortly thereafter came to an end. The climb led me up to Castell de Santueri (Temporarily closed!).

Then it was a drive Playa Ciudad Jardin, where I stayed previously when I visited Palma. However, I'm just a little bit closer to the sea and not shielded by other motorhomes. Accordingly, I can definitely hear the noise of the sea and the wind, which as I already mentioned, has been blowing a bastard (as we used to say in the Royal Navy!).

  • Distance driven: 55 miles
  • Distance cycled: 60 Kilometres
  • Weather: There was a heavy shower this morning, but mainly it was cloudy and very windy. It did brighten up mid to late afternoon.
  • Location: About the length of two motorhomes further south west from where I parked last time!

Today's route: