April 13, 2015

Day 27: Kanab (Rest Day)


To give myself a chance to catch up with my blog, complete the recharging of my 12Ah battery and clean bike chain I've taken a rest day in Kanab, before embarking on the next phase of the tour: Zion National Park, The Utah Cliffs and Bryce Canyon.

Today's lunch (note that I have been provided with a fork to eat my ice cream with!)

..... some time later:
I have been finalising potential locations for camping and food stops and whilst doing so read the accompanying notes to go with the ACA Utah Cliffs Maps and it states "we discourage you from riding this route sole: in fact we advise a minimum group of three". This disconcerts me somewhat and it looks as though I may need to revise my route and seek local advice about the off paved road sections. If the worst comes to pass I'll spend more time in Bryce Canyon and Zion National Park. The other thing is there is a wind weather warning from 10am tomorrow.... oh dear, something else to consider.