January 31, 2023

Day 34: Altea (This and That)

When I awoke this morning at about 8.15am it felt a wee bit chilly. On checking the temperature inside the van it was 1°C and, outside it was -4°C. No surprise then when I saw ice on the windscreen! The sun had it melted by about 9am.

Today was a day of three firsts for me:

  1. Topping up my pre-paid Spanish sim card in a supermarket (after wasting about two hours trying to top it up online). I didn't even know you could do such a thing. A lesson learnt!
  2. Laundered my clothes at a petrol station!
  3. Cut my hair, shaved and tidied up my beard, whilst inside the van!

It is funny how the every day necessities of modern life takes up so much time. Perhaps it was ever thus, but in different ways? By the time I'd completed the foregoing firsts, done some vanwork (i.e, tidying and cleaning), topped up the food stock, sustained myself with breakfast and later with some lunch, it was by then almost 4.45pm, which was verging on being after afternoon coffee and biscuit/cake/flapjack time!

So it goes!

Anyway, after dinner I went for a wee evening stroll.

  • Distance driven: 0
  • Distance cycled: 0
  • Weather: Freezing start (probably as a result of "light airs" that persisted all day); sunbathing weather in the afternoon and; a wrap up if going out, chilly evening.