January 30, 2023

Day 33: Altea (Cycling)

The thing about this blog posting malarkey is what to put in and what to leave out. Obviously nobody's interested in reading about the minutiae of van/cycle life, so there has to be a certain amount of self censorship, for example, deciding not to recount the minor accident that befell(ed) me on my first bicycle ride of this trip (in Ares), which was also the first proper outing for the new bike!

I only mention the foregoing as today I was havering about whether to mention this morning's bread event, and eventually decided I shall.

First thing this morning it was off to the Panaderia to buy bread. Get there early and you won't be disappointed, me thought! Well, in hindsight, I wish I'd left it too late, and arrived to discover the shelves were bare! Turned out I bought the most expensive bread I've ever had the misfortune to buy: €7.20 => £6.50! Such are the vagaries of being a sourdough fanboy abroad.

To cheer myself up I went for a cycle in the sunshine and treated myself to an ice cream on its completion. It was just like being on holiday!

Today's ride took in Calpe:

And Benidorm (visited once before in the mid 80's for one rather, hazy, merry night, whilst serving in Her Majesty's Royal Navy! Cheers Ma'am!)

Couldn't decide which photo to show, so you get both!

  • Distance driven: 0
  • Distance cycled: 63km
  • Weather: Sunny!

Today's ride (is not the greatest of routes: but I was keen to see what the infamous Benidorm was like (I don't know why, but I have no recollection of it from my previous visit!). There was some climbing to be had in Benidorm and the route in to Calpe included both climbing and tunnels, but the rest of the route is nothing to write home about!).