April 28, 2015

Day 41: Durango (Rest Day)

Durango is an enjoyable place to spend a rest day. The only shame was that the Durango to Silverton Narrow Guage Steam Train season does not start until May some time: I thought it would be fun to ride on it. Indeed I am finding that this is quite a common theme, that is, perhaps I started my journey a few weeks too early as some of the things I'd like to do are not possible at this time of the year. So be it! Unfortunately it may mean that I will be prevented from riding up to Mt Evans, the highest paved road in America. We shall see.

In the meantime I have purchased a replacement rear tyre. Indeed I got two for the price of one! So it looks as though I'll be carry a spare for a while.

Anyway, you may or may not be aware that I am somewhat partial to the occasional ice cream or two! So imagine my joy when I came across "Cream Bean Berry", a local ice cream shop where they make their own ice cream. So you can imagine my increased joy when Liz, having heard of my trip across the USA, gave me my ice cream for free! Because I was doing something she thought was cool! Obviously this should be the response of all ice cream purveyors accross the USA.

Indeed, thanks Liz,it is people like you (generous of spirit and time) that I'm frequently meeting who are making this journey that much more pleasurable than it would be if this bicycling odyssey was simply about riding a bike.

Indeed, often it is the simple things and gestures that provide the greatest pleasures and memories.

And, finally, a photograph for Bob L:

Update:

  1. Weather was supposed to be wall to wall sunshine tomorrow but, unfortunately, it looks as though it is going to rain. Nonetheless cycling continues tomorrow come rain or shine.
  2. Had pizza in Chimiyo, it was a mistake, service was atrocious. Not recommended!
  3. Had second helping of ice cream (paid) as it will obviously aid in the 12 miles or so of climbing first thing tomorrow, much of which is at 8%.