May 4, 2015

Day 46: Cimmaron

A few folk that I have met along the way have enquired as to whether I shall be passing by the Black Canyon and, to be honest, I had no idea whether I was or not!

Well, it turns out that I was passing relatively close to it (cpa 6 miles) and so made a short side trip to it, as it was reported as being spectacular and a popular ride for local cyclists. So seemed like a must.

All well and good, but it was a 6 mile climb at 7 or 8 percent and then I was charged $7 to get into the Park to cycle on the "Rim Road". I suggested to the Ranger at the entrance that since I'd ridden up fully loaded I ought to be let in for free! She was having none of it.


Anyway, I enjoyed the visit and the cycle up to the park is well worth it (see photos, which hardly do it justice), especially as the descent back to the main road is generally on a well paved road so is fast.

Restaurant at Cimmaron is closed, so snack/cold/junk food was the evening meal! But, nonetheless all part of the adventure!