March 4, 2023

Day 66 Berja (Cycling)

The siren calls from Puerto de La Ragua have been calling me ever since I traversed the pass two days ago. So, having checked the weather last night, and again this morning, it was all systems go for an assault on the climb. The Berja forecast was predicting clear skies, with a mid morning temperature of 9°C and afternoon temperatures of about 15°C. Whilst the mountain forecast was predicting 6°C and clear skies with wind speeds of about 11 kph at 14:00 hours - my anticipated arrival - I actually arrived at about 13:35. I still became cold over the first half of the descent! But, I slowly warmed up again as the temperatures increased as we (the bike and I) decreased in elevation and pedalling resumed.

I can report that cycling the Puerto de La Ragua was more enjoyable than vaning it!

The only issue of note today was the "topping up" of my Spanish mobile phone's credit, which I managed to resolve in less than 2 hours! Having again tried, and again failed, to get the Movistar website to accept one of my cards, I was forced to walk into town and actually talk to someone! I was mildly pleased with myself as I managed to make myself understood speaking only Spanish! (I can assure you it wasn't a rambling conversation!)

  • Distance driven: 0
  • Distance cycled: 101 km
  • Weather: Good

Today's route: