March 5, 2023

Day 67: Roquetas de Mar (Arrival)

Sometimes you have to go backwards in order to move forward. Today was one of those days.

Last night I was trying to decide what to do next. The choice was to move to the next cycling location, hopefully with a sports bar nearby, and if there was not, go somewhere where I could watch football. Eventually, I decided to sleep on it!

By lunch time today I'd established that what I actually wanted to do was watch Liverpool vs Manchester United; perhaps, one of the most anticipated games of the season.

So that is why I ended up in Roquetas de Mar. A Google search showed that JJ's Southern British Bar!! had large screen TVs that showed premier league football, and the "Park4NIght" app indicated there was a nearby (38 minute walk) park-up location that had decent reviews.

This meant that instead of continuing my journey forward, south and west, I would be heading east and south: backtracking for the first time whilst on this Spanish winter adventure.

That is how I ended up watching Liverpool beat United 7-0; just like me, my team were going backwards. Hopefully, they'll regain forward momentum when the play Real Betis on Thursday!

It also started to rain on me 5 minutes from the van. What luck!

Oh yes, I'm parked by the sea tonight:

  • Distance driven: 28 miles
  • Distance cycled: 0
  • Weather: Fine, until it started raining at about 7.55pm!
  • Location Google Maps