August 22, 2015

Day 156: Vicki-Lin Camp Area (Nr Bridgton)

Did not wake until after 8am, but felt pretty well refreshed after yesterday's bail out.

Oh yes, I most definately made the correct decision yesterday: I had a great day of cycling today:

  1. The climb was great and to my suprise I ascended the last 3.5 miles of the climb, at an average gradient of 9%, in my 8th gear, which equates to 44 gear inches.
  2. I met two attractive women at the top of the climb (no I was not hallucinating due to the effort of the climb or the lack of oxygen!), who had recently completed the New Hampshire Presidential Traverse.
  3. The temperature and humidity was much reduced.
  4. The descent was fast.
  5. And after the descent there was plenty of pleasant cycling to be had alongside rivers and through woods.

    The only downside was that on nearing the New Hampshire / Maine State Line the roads were in a very poor state as they were in the process of being repaired.

    Only spent two days in New Hampshire but, having spent much time in Old Hampshire, especially in the vicinity of Basingstoke, decided that more time in Maine was what I wanted.