September 10, 2015

Day 176: New York (Manhatten)


This is the end ... my beautiful friends the end ....

Obviously I knew it was going to happen: eventually this cycle tour had to end, but it only seems like 5 months, 2 weeks, 2 days, 7 hours, 8 minutes and 9 seconds ago that I left San Diego and yet, what do you know, I've already arrived in New York City. Doesn't time fly when your having fun?!!!

It has been a fantastic adventure from start to finish: I left in glorious sunshine and arrived during a mini downpour and picked up a puncture about 100 yards from my final destination in Manhatten!

There have been the occasional mishap, travail, rainy day, punctures, lost gear, found gear, campsites, motels, hotels, warm showers, cold showers, AirBnB, cold days, hot days, hypothermic descents, ice cream, beer, coffee, lobster, ups and downs but, best of all, I have met some great people along the way who have shown me great kindness and generosity and I thank all of you who invited me to stay in your homes, it has been a great pleasure meeting you all, and I hope that our paths may cross again.

So, to misquote Dr Seuss, I shall not be sad that it is over but, instead, glad that it happened.

Of course it does help that I have 5 days to explore Ney York City before I reintegrate into the"normality" of life when I return to Glasgow.

Th Th That's all folks! (Well, for now anyway!).