March 21, 2015

Day 2: Chicago

After many an hour travelling by train we finally arrived in Chicago at approximately 0950 hours.

So I stop to take a photograph of a public sculpture when I hear a voice asking whether I like said sculpture, to which I responded: No not really, and as he was saying "cos I know the sculptor", I simultaneously continued with: I think it's rubbish! He did not stop to discuss the finer merits of the work and, as many of my former teachers' commented, I should think before I speak! But, then again, he may have concurred with my rather juvenile critique? So, perhaps there was nothing to discuss! Or, more likely, he considered my response unworthy of a response. Either way we will never know and, moreover, the piece still does nothing for me. Indeed, I was only photographing it because I thought it such an exceptional example of bad public art. But what do I know I'm just an acoustic consultant!

But, this I do like:

So, tomorrow I'll be visiting the Art Institute of Chicago, and I know that there is at least one exceptional work of art there that I'm very much looking forward to viewing in the raw.