February 1, 2024

Day 35: Camping Bon Sol (Cycle)

Today, whilst on my cycle ride, I had an inkling that the person I was closing in on was, or had been, a Royal Marine. It helped that the following words were splashed across the back of his cycling jersey: Royal Marines.

Here is a photo of him (coincidentally taken as I photographed a bicycle sign (a literal translation is: light on cyclist next)).

It turns out that Forbes was an ex-Royal Marine, currently on holiday in Benidorm.

Numerous mountain passes were encountered today:
Port d'/puerto de El Collao (distance: 9.3 kilometres, elevation gain: 480m)


Port/Porto de Benifallim (3.7km, 210m)


Port La Carrasqueta

The reason for cycling this route was primerily due to an indication on a map that the road up and over the La Carrasqueta was classified as scenic.

However, on the way up to the summit of the pass I was not overly impressed: it was okay, but nothing special. So what a surprise I had when I rounded the corner for the commencement of the descent - the view was great and the descent was pretty decent too!

Unfortunately, it was rather hazy and taking photographs with the camera pointing towards the sun is never likely to produce a good photograph, especially with a 10 year old mobile phone but, nonetheless I gave it a shot:

My advice, cycle it yourself, I very much doubt you'll be disappointed!

Officially, according to my Garmin gps navigator thing-a-me-bob, there was approximately 47 kilometres of up today out of a total ride distance of 105 kilometers. Fortunately, the last 38 kilometres are mostly downhill!

  • Distance driven: 0
  • Distance cycled: 105 kilometres
  • Weather: Sunny with temperatures ranging from about 12 to 18°C depending on elevation and descending wind chill factor.

Today's route: