February 2, 2024

Day 36: Camping Bon Sol (Cycling)

Today's tree of the day - front and centre!

Today's cycle route was a variation on yesterday's ride: about 50% of the ride was on yesterday's route in the reverse direction; I also rode another road in the reverse direction from that which I rode it last year - the one I was close to becoming hypothermic descending in near zero degrees centigrade temperatures; a section of rode I'd not traveled before, which Forbes, yesterday's Royal Marine, suggested I ride; and finally, some roads I'd ridden last year. In total, I covered about 112 kilometres and again ascended about 2,000 metres. No wonder I was knackered by the time I returned to the campsite.

The good thing about the campsite is it has very good showers. The bad thing about using the showers is not remember to take your towel and only discovering this fact at shower's end!

Otherwise, I had another great day of cycling and again became conscious of how lucky I am to be able to spend my time doing this activity I so much enjoy doing. Obviously, it helped that it was lovely and sunny, the route was good, the traffic flow was very low (the 8 kilometre section of road that Forbes suggested was oh so very quiet - there were no buses, coaches, lorries, vans, motorhomes, campervans, cars, motorbikes, mopeds, electric bikes, bicycles, tricycles, men, women or children, donkeys, sheep, goats or any other four or two legged creatures on this section of road, going in either direction, indeed, there was just me and my bike and peace and quiet!); also both the climbing and scenery were great. Happy days. Here are some photos:

  • Distance driven: 0
  • Distance cycled: 112 Kilometres
  • Weather: Similar to yesterday.

Today's route: