January 3, 2024

Day 6: Valencia (City and Cycle)

A Supreme Being giveth and taketh away kind of day!

The Giveth:

  • Given last year's difficulties in acquiring a Spanish sim card I was surprised at how easy it was this year. The whole thing was sorted in less than ten minutes. I was both chuffed and relieved of GB anxiety (GB standing for GigaBytes not Great Britain!).
  • Next to the central market for bread and lunch. Yet more goodness.
  • Then an ice cream, which is always good!
  • At about 2pm it was about 22°C: who doesn't like that?
  • And on return to the van, it was time for an easy 25 mile cycle, which was very much enjoyed.

The taketh:

  • Just as I was thinking that my fortunes had turned after a series of mishaps and misadventures, I dropped my 10 year old mobile phone, not once but twice: the second occurrence resulting in a cracked screen.
  • Later I dropped my Garmin (cycling gps navigation aid), which resulted in some cosmetic damage to the case - fortunately no damage to its functionality.

It is funny how, if one is not careful, the odd bit of misfortune or two can cloud ones impressions of the day. However, as evidenced, all in all, in the light of giveth and taketh away accounting, it is clear that my good luck easily outways the bad - till next time, perhaps!!

Happy days. And, if you don't like the words, how about some photographs:

The Central Market

A Church and Cyclist

Signage

The Temperature at 2pm

A Migthy Fine Example of an Eddy Merckx

  • Distance Driven: 0
  • Distance Cycled: 41 km
  • Weather: Lovely!
Today's Route: