January 4, 2024

Day 7: Valencia Until 10.30pm (Cycle)

Firstly, a very pleasant cycle was had, which was a variation upon ride I did last year. It was mostly flat, except two steep climbs, especially the final section of the climb to the meteorological station.

Sometime later, I was glad that I left plenty of time to get to the ferry. It was very confusing as to which part of the port the ferry departed. It is both a ferry and freight port, which doesn't help. Google maps sent me on a wild goose chase, even a search of the internet was less than helpful. Fortuitously I eventually came across a ferry sign, which led to another and subsequently many more, until finally I arrived at the terminal with only 50 minutes! to spare before check-in closed at 20.30 for a 22.30 departure. Leaving plenty of time to write this post.

We are due to arrive in Palma at 5.30 AM.

Faro de Cullera

Holiday resort "round the corner" from the lighthouse

Looking north towards Valencia (way off on the horizon) and the rice fields (223 km2) - apparently, introduced by the Arabs.

  • Distance Drive: 31 miles
  • Distance Cycled: 75 km
  • Weather: Light Cloud and warm (19°C at 11 o'clock, about 17°C cycling through the lake / rice fields (on roads!).
  • Location: Somewhere in the Mediterranean
Today's Route (slight variation for first climb! - but I got to the view point!):