March 19, 2023

Day 81: Rincon de la Victoria (Cycle)


I Made a visit to Comares, which is perched on the top of a hill at an elevation of approximately 700m. Given that I'm currently parked at about 4m above sea level, there was a need for some upward cycling, which started off almost imperceptible for about 33 or so kilometres (partly because I was cycling along the coast for a good while), whereupon it became a wee bit lumpy until the left turn at approximately 39 kilometres. At this point the steepness kicked in until our arrival at Comares: it is well worth the effort. It was quite quiet when I arrived, was busier when I left and, I imagine it is quite popular with the tourists.

On the way I passed through Benamargosa:

What I also enjoyed about this ride was, once you were up, you stayed up for quite a while almost cycling along the ridge line as you climbed and descended.

  • Distance driven: 0
  • Distance cycled: 79 km
  • Weather: A little more cloud today and when up in the hills it felt a little chilly when the sun was obscured by cloud.

Today's route: